Registration for this series includes access to all sessions to view live and watch again on demand.

 

Session 1: Introduction to Metadata and Controlled Vocabularies and their Use - On-Demand
Wednesday February 28, 2024
8AM PST / 11AM EST / 4PM GMT / 5PM CET

  • Definitions of metadata and controlled vocabularies
  • Types, examples, and uses of metadata, controlled vocabularies and taxonomies
  • Standards and models for metadata and controlled vocabularies
  • Tagging with controlled vocabularies
  • Categories vs. tags
  • Auto-tagging and AI

 

Session 2: Planning and Development of Controlled Vocabularies
Wednesday March 6, 2024
8AM PST / 11AM EST / 4PM GMT / 5PM CET

  • Building vs. Buying a Taxonomy
  • Identifying Candidate Metadata and Vocabularies
  • Determining Controlled Vocabulary Types
  • Determining Metadata Rules and Governance

 

Session 3: Creating Taxonomy Terms and Relationships
Wednesday March 13, 2024
8AM PST / 11AM EST / 3PM GMT / 4PM CET

  • Creating and wording of terms
  • Creating alternative labels/synonyms
  • Sources for terms
  • Creating taxonomy hierarchical relationships
  • Using generative AI for creating terms and relationships

 

Session 4: Taxonomy Design and Implementation
Wednesday March 27, 2024
8AM PST / 11AM EST / 3PM GMT / 4PM CET

  • Hierarchical taxonomy design
  • Faceted taxonomy design
  • Combinations of controlled vocabularies and search, queries, and Semantic AI
  • Tools for taxonomies
  • Advanced taxonomy topics: multilingual taxonomies, linking taxonomies, ontologies (one slide each)

February – March, 2024

Online Educational Series